G-3FK0LHBP9JG-3FK0LHBP9J

The Holiday Season Leads to an Increase in Uber, Lyft, and Other Rideshare Drivers on California Roadways

At Downtown Law, our California rideshare accident attorneys know that while services like Uber and Lyft are popular year around, the holidays are a specifically busy time for drivers throughout the state.

Personal and professional holiday parties, and friends and families gathering to celebrate can lead to an increase in Uber, Lyft, and other rideshare drivers on the roadways. And it should. Statistics show that impaired driving crashes, injuries, and fatalities see a significant increase over the holiday season, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

Unfortunately, even when riders are taking the safe step of hailing a rideshare after a night out on the town, they cannot plan for another driver’s negligence — including those who work for Uber and Lyft.

The bigger question becomes, who is liable for the injured party’s damages that result from the crash. We have answers.

When is a Rideshare Company Liable for a Traffic Accident in California?

If you are a motorist who is involved in a collision with an Uber or Lyft driver in California, liability depends on the rideshare driver’s “mode” at the time of the crash.

Simply put, if the rideshare driver is not in driver mode — which means he or she is not logged on to the rideshare app and actively working, but simply operating their vehicle — their personal insurance may be liable for the damages that resulted from the crash.

Per California Insurance Code, the minimum liability insurance requirements for all motorists include:

  • $15,000 for injury/death to one person.
  • $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person.
  • $5,000 for damage to property.

In these cases, this is considered just another California car accident.

When drivers are logged into the app but have yet to accept a rider, Uber and Lyft provide limited liability coverage. These layers of insurance coverage are exceedingly complex, especially when the rideshare’s insurance company becomes involved. Like most insurance companies, they will do all they can to minimize their liability, which means undervaluing or denying your claim.

When the rideshare driver is actively working for Uber or Lyft, is in driver mode, has accepted a rider, or is physically carrying a passenger — or if that passenger is you — the rideshare company’s insurance policy will be liable for your damages, up to the $1 million policy limit each company carries. This, too, will be a complex undertaking without a skilled California rideshare attorney by your side. Both Uber and Lyft will enlist their in-house legal counsel, and insurance companies, to fight your claim. Going it alone can mean the difference between getting the recovery you are entitled to and walking away with less than you deserve. We can help.

Contact Our California Rideshare Accident Lawyers at Downtown Law Today

If you have been injured in a vehicle collision with a negligent rideshare driver, or as a passenger with Uber or Lyft, contact our skilled Riverside personal injury attorneys at Downtown Law today by calling (888) 843-5290 to schedule a free consultation.

We will fight for the realistic financial recovery you are entitled to, so you can focus on your physical and emotional well-being.

 

Receive a Free Case Evaluation

Free Case Evaluation